Upcoming Release – June 25 Kelly Willis – Translated from Love

Kelly Willis fans have cause to rejoice! The Austin Texas honky tonk siren will release a brand new studio album this summer! The press release has us anticipating its arrival already!

The album’s 12 tracks are comprised of originals, covers and collaborations. Willis co-wrote the six original songs including the Willis/Prophet tunes “Sweet Little One” and “Losing You,” which feature the Tosca String Quartet and Greg Leisz on the twelve-string guitar and pedal steel. Appearing on the record are Willis’ husband and highly regarded country music songwriter Bruce Robison on two tracks, (“The More I’m Around You,” “Too Much To Lose”) and acclaimed singer-songwriter Jules Shear who contributes as a songwriter and musician on three tracks (“Don’t Know Why,” “Lucky or Something Like It,” and “Too Much To Lose”). “Translated From Love” includes covers of Adam Green’s “Teddy Boys,” Stephen Yerkey’s “Translated From Love,” and a raucous, countrified version of Iggy Pop’s “Success” featuring The Gourds and Michael Ramos.

Kelly quips: “I felt like I had something to prove, and I want people to do a double-take when they listen to this.”

In meanwhile — this will have to do: (this isn’t the video I wanted to share but Universal wouldn’t allow my first choice to be imbedded…go figure) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: