Sammy Kershaw Announces Candidacy for Louisiana Lt. Governor

For Immediate Release

Kaplan, LA – Speaking in his hometown of Kaplan, La, Sammy Kershaw ended weeks of speculation this morning and officially announced he will run as a Republican candidate for Lt. Governor of Louisiana.

“I am proud to be a citizen of this state and I want to be a part of building its future. I’m committed to ensuring that the unique culture and proud heritage of this state is preserved and promoted,” said Kershaw.

Kershaw is running to bring a fresh perspective and new ideas to help move Louisiana forward at a time when strong leadership is critical.

“I am not afraid to make difficult decisions. I know that with leadership comes responsibility. For the past 20 years I have taken care of my employees and their families and have learned that leadership means personal sacrifice. It means putting the needs of others before your own. I am going to bring that same mentality to Baton Rouge. As Commissioner of the Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, I will bring the entire experience of my career. I will lead the effort of expanding Louisiana’s reach and creating economic diversification through what is uniquely ours.”

As Lt. Governor, some of Kershaw’s top priorities include:

* Making the entertainment industry a viable source of economic development in Louisiana.

* Creating education programs that will train a sustainable labor force for this industry.

* Ensuring that the people, places and culture of Louisiana are truly made a top priority within the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

* Creating a program to promote the diversification of our natural settings to capitalize on the “sportsman’s paradise.”

“I am excited about the positive change I know I can effect, but none of these things will happen until we change the outside perception of Louisiana. I want the people of this state to know that am going to be part of a reform movement that begins with strengthening our ethic laws. I will support any effort to make government more transparent. We’ve lost too many businesses to competing states because they are afraid to fall victim to ‘politics as usual’ in Louisiana. I am going to help revitalize our state and we are going to change our image.”

Sammy Kershaw is known for being one of country music’s most talented artists with a Cajun kick. Since his debut in 1991, he has had platinum and gold records, but no amount of success has been able to tear him away from his Louisiana roots. He and wife, Lorrie Morgan, have seven children and two grandchildren.

One Response to “Sammy Kershaw Announces Candidacy for Louisiana Lt. Governor”

  1. […] Kershaw officially announced that he’ll be running as a Republican candidate for Lt. Governor of Louisiana. “I am not afraid to make difficult decisions. I know that with leadership comes […]

Leave a Reply

