Upcoming Release – Teddy Thompson – Upfront and Down Low – Jul 17

I am hooked on this one just from the e-card. Review to come shortly — til then:

E-Card http://www.vervemusicgroup.com/ecard.aspx?pid=11738&ecid=121

Teddy Thompson (the son of British folk-rock legends Richard and Linda Thompson) is set to release his new album, Upfront and Down Low on Verve Forecast. Teddy Thompson’s self-produced Upfront & Down Low features his angelic voice in distinctive and heartfelt readings of beloved country classics: George Jones’ “She Thinks I Still Care” Ernest Tubb’s “Walking the Floor over You” and Merle Haggard’s “(My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers.” It also includes Dolly Parton’s bittersweet “My Blue Tears” and the Elvis Presley chestnut “I’m Left, You’re Right, She’s Gone.”

“Down Low” is the lone Thompson original but perfectly illustrates the connection to his previous work. “. . . country music was the music I was brought up on. . . the music that’s closest to my heart and speaks to me the most . . . it’s definitely had a huge influence on the way I write songs.

Six tracks feature distinctive string arrangements by the legendary Robert Kirby, renowned for his groundbreaking work with Nick Drake, while “My Blue Tears” features an arrangement by Rufus Wainwright “No One’s off the Hook” on Wainwright’s new album

Release the Stars was written for and about Teddy, who continues to tour with Rufus as an opening act. 

Leave a Reply

